Carsten Schürmann, Director
PhD (Carnegie Mellon University 2000)

Carsten Schürmann is Professor at the IT University of Copenhagen focusing on information security, cryptography, language based security, formal methods, and computational social choice. He leads the DemTech research project on trustworthy democratic technologies, an interdisciplinary research effort between computer science and social science that studies trust in digital elections. In the past he was a member of the computer science faculty at Yale University. In 2002, he received the NSF CAREER award.

Randi Markussen, Associate Professor (retired)
PhD (Aarhus University)

Randi Markussen is a member of the Technology in Practice (TiP) group at ITU. She is a historian by training and studies social, cultural and political aspects of the use of information technology.

Christopher Gad, Associate Professor
PhD (Aarhus University)

Christopher Gad is a member of the Technology in Practice (TiP) group at ITU. He has been working in voting technology for people with disabilities.

Nina Boulus-Rødje
PostDoc (ITU)

Academic Partners

David Basin, Professor

David Basin has the chair of the Center of Information Security hosted at the ETH Zurich.

Peter Ryan, Professor

Peter Ryan heads the Electronic Voting Laboratory at the University of Luxembourg and advises the British government on electronic voting technology. He is the author of the Pret-a-Voter voting protocol a variant of which was used at the Victoria 2015 State Election, Australia.

Post-doctoral Researchers

Nicolas Pouillard
Lorena Ronquillo
Nicolas Guenot
PhD (Ecole Polytechnique, France)

PhD Students

Daniel Gustafsson
Master (Chalmers University, Sweden)
Jian Wang
Master (University of Aachen, Germany)
Anne Kathrine Phil Vadgård
Master (University of Aarhus, Denmark)
Olivier Belanger
Master (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Agata Murawska
Master (University of Wroclaw, Poland)
Peter Brottveit Bock
Master (University of Oslo, Norway)

Former Members

Joseph Roland Kiniry
Now at Galois, Portland, OR, USA.
David Baelde
Now lecturer at ENS, Cachan, France.
Steffen Dalsgaard
Now Associate Professor at IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark.